1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Torky the Whatsit-Drabbit

Discussion in 'Skit and Improv' started by Lady Nora Boogermeister, Nov 10, 2009.

1. I'm a newbie here, but I see lots of folks who are worried about not having much to do, as in lack-of-act and such, and I can help you with my own little solution...

Before i got into clowning, I have done a variety of very geeky things, among which was the Rennaissance Faire. At the George RenFaire, where I try to frequent, there's a puppet shop that has really high quality puppets - like, these are the guys that did puppets for The Dark Crystal, The Labyrinth, Gollum from Lord of the Rings, the House Elves from Harry Potter, etc. - and I got a small one that is covered with bright green fur, although he has a torso/feet and face that is hand carved to look very reptillian, with pearl eyes. At first glance, it's a combination between dragon and fuzzy thing, and I was told it's a 'drabbit', but in all honest it's a fuzzy dragon familiar type thing. As it is, he's a simple puppet, but he can nod his head (not unlike a cockatoo) and shake it from side to side. It's a simple control (hydraulics of some kind, which adds to it being so expensive, as well as it being completely hand-made and unique), but after a while I got a good feel for it. When I first got it working, though, it has a slight slant to one side, and he doesn't turn very well, so I don't shake his head much, but he will nod exuberantly quite a bit.