1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First clowning stint coming up!

Discussion in 'Newbies to clowning' started by Heather, Aug 2, 2016.

1. Heather

Heather New Member

I'm the volunteer webmaster/marketing person for a local spay neuter charity, and since I'm trying to learn the art of clowning, I have volunteered my services for this weekend for a few hours for our booth at a big art festival/block party this weekend.

This is my first time trying any clown stuff for a group larger than 5 kids, I have NO IDEA what I'm getting myself into! Since it's a dog-related charity, my plan is to focus on all dog stuff - balloon dogs (easy!), making a menu of a few dog-themed faces I can paint, and memorizing stupid dog jokes. I am hoping that focusing on a theme like this will help me get some practice working with kids and the public as my clown self. =)

I've also made up a small flyer to have with me in case anyone is interested in getting a hold of me in the future. AND I'm lucky that there will be another face painter in the booth next to mine for another animal charity that we are aligned with, so hopefully I can learn some things in the process.

Tips? Am I on the right track? I'm so excited and so nervous at the same time! :D

2. Sir Toony Van Dukes

Sir Toony Van Dukes Well-Known Member

I remember when I was first getting started, I followed another clown. He kept telling the same joke to everyone he encountered. I mentioned it to him and he told me that it was a new audience each time and that he and I were the only ones who knew he kept using the same joke.