1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Character or two to one?

Discussion in 'Hospital Clowning' started by krhagan19, Aug 5, 2014.

1. krhagan19

krhagan19 New Member

I am totally new to Clowning, I know nothing but have a huge interest and am willing to learn and currently have lots of time in which to learn it and study it. I want to create a character that can be both a birthday clown full of birthday mirth and also an appropriately joyful but respectful hospital clown for a childrens hospitals. I live in a area with two large childrens hospitals and as a christian clown I think it is very good and a joyful thing to bring happiness to children who are in such a negative environment. Any suggestion is welcome.
    Warmest Regards,
    K.R. Hagan
    P.S. I will change my name to a cool clown name once I pick one!

2. Snoetje

Snoetje Well-Known Member

If you want to make children happy in hospital (which is a very nice thing!), it's most important you can feel what children want, how far you can go etc. Children in hospitals are very vulnerable, you don't want them to feel even more uncomfortable or even scared. It's in 'normal' clowning already important, but especially in hospitals!
    So try to train feeling how close you can come to people and how much energy you can use and such things. You can do this everyday. Also, hospital clowns usually have not much makeup. Mostly just a nose.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Sir Toony Van Dukes

Sir Toony Van Dukes Well-Known Member