1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

58 year old/new clown

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Skip, Sep 6, 2016.

1. Skip

Skip New Member

Hi everyone, I'm 58 retired and a Shriner ( if you don't know what a Shriner is google it as it would take too long to type out) I have been doing white face just for fun for several years but now I'm thinking about being a Shrine circus clown and about 14 parades a year. the only problem I have , really is figuring out what kind to be. White face is what i'll be but what kind, golfer, boat skipper with little boat or a snorkeler using a sea do to parade. how do you pick?

2. Squirty

Squirty New Member

Hello from another Shriner in Kansas. I've been doing the clown thing here for about a year. Good times! I'd say the golfer is a good theme, but the idea of a clown with a snorkel and flippers wandering around sounds funny. Besides, think of the fun you could have with fish props.

3. Sir Toony Van Dukes

Sir Toony Van Dukes Well-Known Member

Pick whichever you like most or best fits your personality. Or, pick the one you think you have the best chance of finding the perfect costume and prop to match the character. Pick more than one and go with whichever is a better fit for the season, weather, or parade theme. Have a winter/Christmas parade, go with something snow related or be goofy and dress for a trip to the beach. The upcoming theme for a local parade is Jive Back to the 1940s, so that too can be the inspiration for a costume/character.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. The NORMAL One

The NORMAL One Active Member

Parades changes your thinking. You need to remember that you are walking, getting hot, really do not want to carry a lot. So I would say keep it simple in props, costumes,face and wigs.